Introducing CHRIS

With over 25 years of experience in the cycling industry, we welcome Chris to the Hendry’s team. Chris has become a staple at the Tour Down Under working as team mechanic for HTC Highroad, Garmin Cervelo, IAM pro cycling, FDJ Groupama, and Bora-Hansgrohe, also joining Allan Piper at HTC/Highroad during the 2010/2011 European racing seasons. 

For the last 13 years, Chris held the role of Head Mechanic with Baum Cycles, building and servicing some of the world’s most desirable bikes. 

Establishing his own part-time bicycle servicing business back in 2012, Chris is well regarded within the Geelong and Melbourne cycling community. His attention to detail and sound advice and will bring a wealth of knowledge and expertise to share with our team and customers from Monday 15 July.


How did you get into cycling?  My first taste of cycling was back in 1993, watching the then extensive 30-minute SBS highlights with Phil Liggett on the smallest TV you have ever seen, Seeing the French Alps for the first time I was hooked, and could not get enough. I commenced racing in 1995 with the Geelong Cycling Club as a young and enthusiastic 13-year-old, continuing to race throughout Belgium and Spain during the mid-2000s.

Favourite bike?  My favourite bike out of many over the years was an early 2000s Aluminum Pinarello Prince with Campagnolo Record 10-speed and Hyperon wheels, True Italian style at its peak (I shouldn’t have sold it).

Riding type?  I currently ride on the road and gravel, 3 to 4 days per week as time permits with a young family.

Favourite ride?  Road: Geelong to Lorne on the Great Ocean Road is where you will find me almost every Saturday morning or if I'm traveling to the Victorian high country, Mt Buffalo is usually my mountain of choice.

Gravel: Riding throughout the Otway’s National Park. But still, there are many more places that I would love to explore.

Favourite coffee?  I’ve never been a coffee drinker…. Hard to imagine a cyclist that doesn’t drink coffee?!

How many bikes do you own? Currently 3 bikes, Road, Gravel and MTB, I’m about due for a new one (N+1)!

Introducing BILLY

After a 15 year career in the fitness industry, in 2014 I began work with Cycles Galleria.

From a casual in the Camberwell store, to the Manager of Ringwood I soon became Regional Manager for the business in 2017 running then seven stores. We became the biggest TREK dealer in the country and Melbourne's biggest chain of stores.

In 2021 I moved into a wholesale role with TREK AU as Territory Manager, where I managed the independent business operators in VIC and TAS (which included Hendry Cycles).

2024 sees me step into the role of General Manager with Hendry’s, an exciting opportunity and new chapter.


How did you get into cycling? My dad got me into cycling when I was 12. We started doing fundraising rides for the KOALA foundation (I had leukaemia as a kid). I rode most of the GVBR events in high school and then started racing track when I was 19.

Favourite bike? Pivot Trail 429 - I had one of these on demo in 2019 and I've never been so fast downhill and felt so capable off road, a dream MTB to ride. Close second was the Trek Madone SLR 9 I had for 3 peaks - another stupidly fast bike that was so comfortable to ride.

Riding type?  It changes. Right now it's gravel because it allows me to explore and have fun when I'm time poor and can't afford to be away from home on big road rides or MTB sessions.

Favourite loop? For gravel, it would have to be the 60km loop from Anglesea on the gravel roads through to Aireys Inlet and return. It takes you up to the highest point in the area and the views back over the ocean are amazing. With 1500m of climbing it's tough but super fun. 

Favourite coffee? Depends on the time of day - long black in the morning or a magic (yup, I’m a Melbourne coffee snob) in the afternoon.

How many bikes do you own? 

Trek Checkpoint SL Custom Build
Trek Dual Sport + (Family bike)
Trek Emonda ALR (Trainer Bike)
New road bike incoming ...